Team India at World Schools Debating Championships (WSDC) 2014 and Asia World Schools Debating Championships (AWSDC) 2014 , Bangkok, Thailand


WSDC 2014

This was the first ever Indian team at WSDC that was led completely by Indian coaches who were also Team India Alumni. The new coaches took the team to a 22nd place finish as they won 4 out of 8 debates, narrowly missing out on a break to the out rounds. Surya Kumaravel was the 7th best and Raghav Anand the 20th best English as a Second Language speakers in the world respectively. Surya also placed in the top 50 speakers in the world in the open category.


AWSDC 2014

The Team finished as Semi Finalists, and bowed out to a team from South Africa. In the initial rounds, they won 5 out of the 6 debates and broke 3rd among the 30 teams at the tournament. Tejaswini was placed in the top twenty speakers in the open category of the tournament. Dhruva Bhat was adjudged the second best adjudicator at the tournament.


  • Raghav Anand: Raghav Anand has just completed his 12th standard, scoring 481/500 in his final exams. He will be pursuing Engineering Physics at the University of California, Berkeley. He represented India at AWSDC and WSDC 2014, Thailand. He finished as the 20th best English as a Second Language(ESL) Speaker at WSDC 2014, Thailand.
  • Eashwar Nagaraj: Eashwar is currently studying Quantitative Economics at the University of Miami in Oxford, Ohio. He won the Illinois State Moot court tournament in 2015, and was also runner up at the Ohio State University and Cornell University moot courts in 2015-16
  • Surya Kumaravel: Surya is currently studying law at University College London. He finished as the 7th best ESL Speaker at WSDC 2014, Thailand. He is an integral part of the debating society at UCL serving as its president in 2016-17.
  • Sashank Kumar Chenga: Sashankh has completed his 12th grade, scoring 482/500 in his final examinations. He was a part of the team representing India that made it to the semi-finals of the AWSDC 2014 and the Indian team at WSDC 2014, Thailand. He will be pursuing his undergraduate studies at the National University of Singapore.
  • Keerthanya Rajesh: Keerthanya is currently studying in 12th grade at PSBB KK Nagar, Chennai. Apart from the AWSDC and WSDC 2014, she has gone on to represent her school at the prestigious World Schools Forum in 2016.


Amrithavarshini Venkatesh

Amrithavarshni completed her Integrated Masters in Development at IIT, Madras and has gone to work at Dalberg Global Development Advisors, Mumbai. She was part of Team India in WSDC 2012 in Cape Town, where she finished as the 4th best English as a Second Language Speaker. She also debated as part of Team India in WSDC 2008 at Washington D.C.

Her debating career continued at university. Her record includes a victory at Stella Maris College Parliamentary Debate in 2014 and a finals appearance at the NALSAR Intervarsity Debating Championship, 2013. Moreoever, she served on the Chief Adjudication Panel of The IIT Bombay Debate in 2015, the NALSAR Intervarsity Debating Championship in 2015, the Scholastica International Parliamentary Debate in Bangladesh in 2016, and the Manipal Institute of Technology Debate Tournament in 2016.

Amrithavarshini coached the Indian WSDC team in 2014, 2015 and 2017. In 2015, the team broke 15th and made the octofinal, while the 2017 team made it to the quarterfinals and became the best performing team in Team India’s history. Amrithavarshini also coached the team from India that won the 2016 Asia World Schools Debating Championship.

Coach/ Adjudicator

Padmapriya Govindarajan

Padma recently graduated with an Integrated Masters in Development Studies from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, and will start pursuing a China Studies program from the Peking University this fall, as a recipient of the prestigious Yenching Scholarship. She also served as a correspondent for The Diplomat. She was ranked the 18th best ESL speaker in the world at WSDC 2012 as part of Team India; she was also a part of Team India at WSDC 2009 in Athens, Greece, and a part of the team representing ISDS at the Russell McVeagh International Schools Debating Tour in New Zealand.

She has continued to pursue her love for debate, becoming a convenor of the Oratory Club at IIT Madras in 2013-14 and 2014-15. In addition, she has debated at several high profile tournaments, winning at SMCPD in 2013 and 2014, and appearing in the final at NALSAR IV 2013. She adjudicated at WSDC 2014 for Team India, and at AWSDC 2017 for the team representing the Indian Schools Debating Society.

This Team was managed by Mrs. Syna Binoy.

Art Ward, Sayeqa Islam, Siddarth Shrikanth, Dhruva Bhat, Chandrasekhar Sriram and Satchit Sivakumar also helped in training the team.

ISDS has represented India in several international debating competitions, including the World Schools Debating Championship, since its inception in 2008.